Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Need Suggestions for a 16V bipolar power supply kit
Need Suggestions for a 16V bipolar power supply kit
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 19th July 2019, 02:07 AM   #1
drtebi is offline drtebi  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Need Suggestions for a 16V bipolar power supply kit

I am working on a new project which consists of two EQP5 modules from DIYREC. The idea is to build a stereo pultec-style equalizer that I want to experiment with in my HiFi setup.

Each module needs +/- 16V DC, and I am having trouble finding a kit that can provide this. I would prefer a kit that provides at least the PCB, preferably all the parts. I am no expert, so building one from scratch on a breadboard is a bit intimidating to me...

I have on order a +/- 15V power supply from glassware audio which I intend to use for another project (DIAL-DAC). From what I understand, I can use this for the EQP5 as well, at least for testing. But ideally I would like the "correct" +/-16V.

Does anyone have any suggestions for a good kit? Maybe one that is easily modified to supply 16V (I guess I could modify the glassware kit, but I wouldn't know how to...).

Click the image to open in full size.
Old 19th July 2019, 02:15 AM   #2
nigelwright7557 is offline nigelwright7557  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

I would have thought you could get away with 1 volt difference.

Otherwise, you could buy a pcb off ebay but use decent quality components from a reputable supplier instead.
Old 19th July 2019, 03:05 AM   #3
PRR is offline PRR  United States
diyAudio Member

The EQ will work, just fine, with +/-15V.