Need Suggestions for a 16V bipolar power supply kit

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am working on a new project which consists of two EQP5 modules from DIYREC. The idea is to build a stereo pultec-style equalizer that I want to experiment with in my HiFi setup.

Each module needs +/- 16V DC, and I am having trouble finding a kit that can provide this. I would prefer a kit that provides at least the PCB, preferably all the parts. I am no expert, so building one from scratch on a breadboard is a bit intimidating to me...

I have on order a +/- 15V power supply from glassware audio which I intend to use for another project (DIAL-DAC). From what I understand, I can use this for the EQP5 as well, at least for testing. But ideally I would like the "correct" +/-16V.

Does anyone have any suggestions for a good kit? Maybe one that is easily modified to supply 16V (I guess I could modify the glassware kit, but I wouldn't know how to...).

eqp5.jpg

PRR

Joined 2003
Paid Member
The EQ will work, just fine, with +/-15V.

However if it makes you happier, the Glassware regulator is programmed with simple resistor ratios. Get the +/-15V job, then tack about 2k or 5k across the resistors I have circled. Or contact John, he knows what resistors he uses for 15V and can probably tell you what gives 16V.

Attachments

• dual-bipolar-lv-reg-9-HACK.gif
    dual-bipolar-lv-reg-9-HACK.gif
    20.4 KB · Views: 251
I did actually ask Peterson from DIYREC whether 15 volts would be enough, and his opinion was the same... 1 volt difference shouldn't be a problem, I would just loose a little bit of headroom.

I have asked John from glassware but haven't gotten a response yet...

Once I have his board I can post what resistors are used, and maybe someone can point out with which ones I could replace them with? Unfortunately my knowledge in electronics is very slim :(