Is AC measured on DC the 'noise' / 'ripple'

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Joined 2018
Paid Member
I'm new to EE so please go easy.....PSUs are all about 'low noise' and then give us a reading in uV.

Just playing with some regs here....7v ac into a rectified 7085 ....5.015 Vdc but also 0.006vac.

Then fed thru a lm317t and reg to 3.45v. (No load)....and I'm down to 0.004vac.

Is this AC reading the noise or ripple we talk about RE PSUs and are the two things the same?

Brain fart moment whilst tinkering about......spent a couple hours building a 317/337 +- board today.....then fed it mains 240vac....nice one

Magic smoke was released and the RCD shut the house down....silly me. Maybe just fried the regs.

Hi Jim,

"Ripple" is normally used to describe the variation in voltage caused by periodical operation in a power supply.
For a power supply made up of a transformer, a bridge rectifier and a capacitor bank (energy storage), the ripple is the voltage variation on the capacitor bank from 100HZ (double rectification / Europe) recharging of the capacitor bank. This voltage ripple evidently increases with increasing load current that discharges the capacitor bank in-between the recharging moments.
For an SMPS, the voltage ripple relates to the switching frequency of the SMPS (often 50kHz-200KHz). Sometimes the ripple frequency is the same as the switching frequency, sometimes the ripple frequency is the double (depends on the SMPS design). Again, it relates to voltage variations at a capacitor (or capacitors) in the output of the SMPS.

"Noise" is normally used to describe random voltage variations of a voltage, typically with an almost white noise distribution. Sometimes "noise" is used for the sum of voltage variations as supply voltage variation in general is seen as unwanted.