Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Power supply help
Power supply help
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 19th November 2018, 01:49 AM   #1
Preciousamps is offline Preciousamps
diyAudio Member

Default Power supply help

Hello newby here,
I'm a disabled mechanic/technician diy'er with some ac/dc knowledge and I've been studying my butt off to build a tube amp and some pedals I love all things guitar and I have to do things on the cheap do to my finances cause of disability. I have tons of electronics I've salvaged, good stuff and some new tubes and sockets I will have to purchase some higher voltage caps and such but.......i can't find specs for my PS stuff.
Does any know or have resources about mains PS and Opt PS
I have a Philco both mains and output from old radio and many others others sansui and infinity ect I have numbers and images if needed or if anyone knows were I can find info great. I have spent days looking and can't find anything specific. Thank for your help!
Old 19th November 2018, 02:41 AM   #2
JMFahey is offline JMFahey  Argentina
diyAudio Member

1) welcome to the Forum

2)
Quote:
mains PS and Opt PS
maybe you mean Mains/Power and Output transformers?

3) if that Philco radio was a tubed one, try to find what model it was, we might find a schematic, that would give us a clue about transformers used.

I guess those Sansui and Infinity transformers are from Solid State stuff ... they can be used of course to build SS Guitar amplifiers, with maybe a Tube preamp fed from a smaller inexpensive transformer.
Lots of interesting stuff can be done.

4) I suggest you start with Pedals, if anything because no transformers are involved, just a simple inexpensive 9V power supply ... or even a 9V battery.