How to build Linear PSU?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I saw quite often on ebay, aliexpress different parts pcb and so on in order to build a psu and i wish to build my own. Should power a hybrid amp which requires a 26v/0.8 and as well a topping d50 dac 5v/2. I never did anything like this therefore i really need you're help. The only sure thing is that the solder is already in HOT :D

Regards,

Last edited:
G'day,

A small comment on supply voltages and power levels for a start: If the "hybrid amp" is a power amplifier, 26V/0.8Amp sounds little likely. 0.8A is too little for a power amplifier.
The TP50 uses a 5V/3A power supply.

Do you want to assemble your own power supply kit?
Do you want to design and build your own power supply using power regulator ICs?
Do you want to design and build your own power supply from discrete components?

Joined 2018
Paid Member
I'm also new to this and considering building some psus.

I have this board in my watched items. Looks quite nice if you need DC.

HiFi Single Power Supply Rectifier Filter Board Kit For 1969 Amplifier PSU | eBay

And also similarly

DIY KITS HIFI Stereo Power Supply Board 63V 2200Uf X 8+MUR860G X 4 6008728722130 | eBay

I guess feed these from a toroid or laminate transformer and apart from voltage regulation you are nearly there?

An AC psu is something for me to learn as at the moment I power my Dacmagic straight from a 12v toroid. It works but I know it isnt correct!

I'm also new to this and considering building some psus.

I have this board in my watched items. Looks quite nice if you need DC.

HiFi Single Power Supply Rectifier Filter Board Kit For 1969 Amplifier PSU | eBay

And also similarly

DIY KITS HIFI Stereo Power Supply Board 63V 2200Uf X 8+MUR860G X 4 6008728722130 | eBay

I guess feed these from a toroid or laminate transformer and apart from voltage regulation you are nearly there?