How big a Toroid Transformer

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
How big a transformer do I need to power a 100 watt FET power amp board.?. I will be using two 250 VA toroids to create separate power supplies for each channel.. The transformers are rated at 3 amps each. I have been using the formula that 1 watt equals 1 VA but I have been told that this should be double that amount which means the two transformers I have should be okay with a little headroom there. The power supplies will be using Shcottsky diodes rated at 125 amps. I recently completed an amp using only one of these transformers to power a similar amp and I was promptly criticized for using such a small unit and that the amp would fail.. I have been using it for the last 4 months and it is driving AR3A's without any issues. Is there a good and valid rule of thumb to follow on this? Thanks

In general, a 250VA transformer can power both a 100W class AB and class D amplifier. Whether it has the right voltage and current for the type of amplifier and speaker impedance is another matter.
I am not convinced you will have any benefit from Schottky diodes though they have a reduced forward voltage drop. I have been told that the very rapid switching speed can cause ringing on the supply lines such that you may need snubbers for damping. Schottky diodes are very useful when you have low voltages and high currents (which is not the case) or for high frequency switching, evidently.

Last edited:
Mr. FauxFrench says it well.

250 VA ≈ 250 W, which is about right for an amplifier rated at producing 100 W output, continuously.

My personal rule-of-thumb is 1.2 max( peak watts, 2 × average watts ), or 20% more than the larger of… twice the average watts (2 × 100) and the peak pre-clipping watts.