First build linear PSU help - load balancing outputs.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello

This is my first project. I am planning to build a linear power supply to power a Raspberry Pi 3 and also an Allo Katana DAC.

The RPi needs 5v 2.5A, the Allo Katana needs 5v 1A.

I plan to buy two of these modules, which will give me 4 DC outs:

0.56uV Ultralow noise DAC power supply regulator 3.3/5/7V 2A*x2 - DIYINHK

I appreciate this is minimal DIY but I don't have the knowledge / skill / time to completely design the whole PSU from scratch. I am also aware that additional LT3045 can be added to these circuits - but I don't have the skill / tools to solder SMT chips.

To get the 3A I need, I plan to parallel the output of 3 DC outs which individually produce 5v 1A, to create a 5V 3A rail for the RPi3. The 4th DC out will be used standalone giving 5V 1A for the Katana.

I understand to parallel the outputs that I should use resistors to load balance the three separate supplies. I understand that I need around [CORRECTION 250mOhm] on each output, typically consisting of lower value resistors.

I currently plan to parallel 4 x [CORRECTION 1Ohm] resistors on each output. Thereby 12 resistors in total, which will be placed in parallel.

Questions

1) Why is it recommended to use multiple [CORRECTION 1Oh] resistors as opposed to a single [CORRECTION 250mOhm] resistor?

2) Assuming 1Ohm resistor - what rating do they need to be?

5v3A = 15w . Which spread over 12 resistors ~1.25w per resistor. Not sure the math works like that but I assume I need resistors of >1w.

3) All the 250mOhm >1w resistors I've seen are wirewound, are these suitable for this application?

4) Would I be better with film - what is a suitable film resistor?

Thanks for any guidance.

Also does anyone know the AC input voltage to those power supply regulators? The website specs don't say.:confused:

Last edited: