Building power supply for O2/ODAC & Raspberry Pi

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi guys,

I`m working on a little project. Currently, I own an Epiphany O2/ODAC headphone amp, which I`m very happy with. I use a Raspberry Pi as a FLAC streamer. Both currently need an adapter for power.

What Ì would like to do is add a Box Enclosure B3-160 enclosure to house
  • the Raspberry Pi, to work as FLAC player
  • an 230VAC connection to hook it up to a power socket
  • a 230VAC to 5V 2.1A PSU to power the Pi
  • a 230VAC to 15VAC 333mA transformer (Myrra 44232), to power the O2/ODAC
  • a power jack to deliver 15VAC out

As I have no experience in building this, I have some questions that I was hoping you could help me out with.

1. I currently use a 230VAC-12VAC 250mA adapter. If I want to replace this with the Myrra 44232, is that the only component I need? (The O2/ODAC needs 12-20VAC to work properly, rated at >200mA, so I think the Myrra should work)
  2. Does anyone know of a PSU I can hook up to 230AC, and have a USB port out? I only found this regulated switching PSU on DealExtreme, which provides the power, but no USB port.
  3. What sort of grounding is needed? Both adapter I now use have no grounding, so perhaps I should not make a grounded 230VAC connection?
  4. Does putting these elements in one enclosure create any interference issues?

Thanks in advance for your help! :)

Best regards,

Sarion

O2 doesn't requires AC traffo having "Earthing" point.2 pin AC-AC stepdown Wallwarts are OK. 12V AC is bare minimum. No need to go for 15V AC if you face no problem or don't drive low impedance low sensitivity h/p(I don't). The entire casing (if metallic) is grounded thru audio i/p common Gnd of O2.