Yet another ultra low noise high PSRR LDO - LT3042

While I was amazed by ADM7150's performance, Linear tech released their best LDO ever - LT3042

The first sub-uv noise (0.8uv RMS @ 10Hz-100KHz) LDO on the market. What do you think?

LT3042.jpg

Last edited:
Hi there, I'm new to this so please bear with me but I have a question about the LT3042.

Looking at the datasheet, they show a high current set-up of the LT3042 using an external PNP (D45VH10G) and with that it shows an Iout(max) of 1.5A rather than the standard 200mA of the LT3042.

My question is how do they get the max Iout of 1.5A?
Looking at the datasheet for the D45VH10G PNP it shows a max continuous collector current of 15A and a peak collector current of 20A. Am I missing something...?

Also, if I wanted to use the LT3042 to achieve a current draw of about 3.2A (or maybe slightly more to be safe) what would the best way to go about doing that?
I'm thinking of heating an 845 with a very clean dc power supply.

Many thanks,
Jeroen

What is the best option for caps at the output ? All those new LT regs are stable with ceramic ....but smd caps have some cracking piezzo noise : should we care about it for digital stuffs and swap the ceramics with other technology despite the good inductance of small X7R smd size ? bigger tantalum/polymer ? 2.5 mm pitch legs radial MKT ?

Thanks or your reply, Mike. That is good, and most encapsulated transformers will satisfy that requirement. Something has me pondering, though.

According to the datasheet, the LT3042's PG, PGFB, ILIM and SET pins cannot be driven more than 0.3V below ground during normal operation, or a fault condition. On its own, this is fine, but I'm trying to envision how two LT3042 rectifiers could be arranged to provide a common return path for (+15)-0-(-15) output without these pins on the now-negative half being below ground? If you could provide a schematic drawing it would be excellent and a great help.

Last edited: