Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Hypex SMPS400A180
Hypex SMPS400A180
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 17th June 2014, 09:08 AM   #1
DanielIt is offline DanielIt  Italy
diyAudio Member

Default Hypex SMPS400A180

Hi. I have one monitor speaker that have 2 bridged UcD180 modules on 8ohm load for bass and 1 of same module on tweeter duty with this power supply.After 2 years of working ,last week on power up it wont work.As an electrical engineer myself i found that on power up 2 transistor of the supply board poppd up.The 2 in question are T7 and T14. The first is an smd part and i cant read it what it was,with some intuition and a little schematic i draw i think is an high voltage pnp part.The T14 is an npn KSP44.I already emailed hypex to ask what part number it is so i can change it myself and no answer for now.I must mention that the fast 5A fuse is working,the bridge rectifier too and the caps are good.Is only missing the low voltage startup part.
I ask is anyone have a module at hand if can make an macro picture of the tiny transistor to see the number printed.
Thank you in advance.
Daniel
Old 17th June 2014, 10:20 AM   #2
JonSnell Electronic is offline JonSnell Electronic  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Normally the SMD tuning capacitors crack on the board and then it overheats and dies. Hypex will not supply any information.
T7 has 1Bt printed on it. Have you checked U1 with a power supply to see if it oscillates? The two transistors feed U1.
Old 17th June 2014, 10:32 AM   #3
diyAudio Member