Simple, no-math transformer snubber using Quasimodo test-jig

I have my diyA "subscription" for this thread, arranged so I get an email notification of new posts here, including the content of the post. The post which moderator 6L6 deleted, included a link to one of those sketchy pdf dumps; a pdf containing a poor-quality scan of Morgan Jones's copyrighted article in Linear Audio magazine. The complete article, all pages. Then moderator 6L6 typed post #1309, which told readers where they could find the article from legitimate sources.

I am not a mind reader but I imagine that "the complete article, all pages" was part of moderator 6L6's decision process.

It seems that the purpose of this thread is to be instructive.

Posting the entire LA article does violate the copyright. Posting a snippet is clearly instructive and within “Fair Use”.

The question is; where will diyAudio and Linear Audio (Jan) draw the “Fair Use” line?

Many times I have been inclined to quote a copyright publication but I have not.

I have the impression that diyAudio has a "No Use" policy.

DT

Joined 2011
Paid Member
The Linear Audio article is a quick read (only 14 pages long), but they do charge money for it. You can either purchase a hardcopy of the entire LA Volume, or a pdf download of just one single article. ... here is a link ...

The Quasimodo manual is a bit longer: 22 pages. However it's available for free, just download it from diyAudio. It is an Acrobat .pdf attachment, connected to the very bottom of post #1 in the Quasimodo thread. i.e., this very thread, the one you are reading now.

High voltage snubbers...
I've recently checked with my Quasimodo a 460V transformer used in a DIY tube preamplifier. Required resistance is 4K7. So I installed the two caps (600VAC rated) and a 3W resistor. Its temperature is reasonable, 50/55°C (around 125°F) and I can measure 100VAC (RMS, read by a DVM) over it.