[NOOB] Power supply mayhem

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,

I'm quite new to DiyAudio. I've just got 2 LM3886 and I'm trying to build my own gainclone from scratch. But for now, I'm disparately trying to build a power supply out of this :

12-0-12 10A Transformer (sold as 24VAC 10A -_-!)

It's not toroid...it's the "square" kind.

I want to build a symmetric/bipolar XX-0-XX psu out if it. (XX = I don't know the output dc voltage... should be 24 * 1.4)

My first try resulted in a blown fuse...but anyway.

I did my homework and found some "solution", but I'd like to know if you think any of them could be used.

Solution #1 :
Using 2 rectifier bridge :
symmetric_supply.gif

This is kinda my first attempt, but I didn't put any capacitor... I've only plugged both rectifier in parallel (AC side) and series (DC side)... and it blown my fuse. Maybe my fuse was too weak (some random Fuse the clerk gave me... I didn't even look at it...but I asked for 125V 2A). My new fuse is 125V 3A (I had some in my scrap bin!).

Do you think if I add the capacitor It will work? I didn't use any capacitor as I was only testing the output voltage (without load) on my multimeter.

Solution #2 :
Using 2 Diode
simple_symmetric_supply.gif

I didn't try this solution, but still, are the capacitors necessary for not blowing anything up?

That's pretty much it.

I'm also found regulated solution (with Zener or LM317/137), but I'd like to avoid regulated voltage as it will limit my output current.

As I said, I'm new to Diy Audio, but I've been doing some little Electronic (mostly microcontroller driven board). I'm used to work with 5vdc and 12vcd regulated psu... but I never built one!

And... thanks for this wonderful forum full of information!

p.s. I know I could use the lm3886 in single power supply, but I'd prefer to have a symmetric/bipolar solution