• Disclaimer: This Vendor's Forum is a paid-for commercial area. Unlike the rest of diyAudio, the Vendor has complete control of what may or may not be posted in this forum. If you wish to discuss technical matters outside the bounds of what is permitted by the Vendor, please use the non-commercial areas of diyAudio to do so.

Would like some guidance

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I live in Toronto and buying Canadian my preference. It is good to know that Planet 10 is based in Canada!
I am really new to the DIY part of the audio hobby.
Here is my situation:
I own a very small pair of bookshelf speakers (12"H x 7"W x 8.5"D) that were built by Cabot Acoustics in Nova Scotia. The drivers are a Mark Audio Alpair 7.3 Gold. I use the speakers in my pretty small home office. Amplification is ss with a vintage Yamaha CA-1000 amp.
The sound that these drivers emit is quite beguiling especially with vocals and acoustic guitar.
So now you know my reference point.
I am thinking of building (or having a friend build) a pair of speakers for me that I can use in an upstairs bedroom, which I will empty of its current contents and make it into my personal music room. Dimensions are about 12' x 12' x 7.5High. I would like to have a floor stander that is compact - nothing that is going to overpower the room in both size and sound volume.
I will stick to solid state amplification - I am too old to start with tubes!
I would appreciate any advice as to a design that I can explore.