• Disclaimer: This Vendor's Forum is a paid-for commercial area. Unlike the rest of diyAudio, the Vendor has complete control of what may or may not be posted in this forum. If you wish to discuss technical matters outside the bounds of what is permitted by the Vendor, please use the non-commercial areas of diyAudio to do so.

Acoustic control material

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I hope Dave let's me post this. It may be helpful. It may also actually belong in a different forum, but I would like to share with my longer-term friends here first.

To put the discussion in context.....

I have been building a particular pair of speakers for (coming up on) 2 years, delayed for medical reasons. It could be considered a FAST system using a Satori MW16P-4 (original design was for an Alpair 10P, but wanted to try the very extended range Satori) with bass help from Peerless 10" 830668 and 12" 830660 plus a little HF help from a SEAS H1189 27TDFC tweeter. All sealed cabinets, first order crossovers, three separate cabinets (bass, mid and tweeter shell) to help in adjusting timing. So, it might be a FAST system or maybe....

OK, that's the speaker system....

I originally used recycled denim, UltraTouch in a thicker version and polyfill as box stuffing for acoustic control. The results were [pause] disappointing. I removed the polyfill and added more UltraTouch with even worse results. Replaced the UltraTouch with polyfill resulting in equally bad results.

Measurements confirmed the boomy problems. Unfortunately, the microphone failed in the middle of testing. Everything I did AFTER the mic failed is PURELY SUBJECTIVE.