• Disclaimer: This Vendor's Forum is a paid-for commercial area. Unlike the rest of diyAudio, the Vendor has complete control of what may or may not be posted in this forum. If you wish to discuss technical matters outside the bounds of what is permitted by the Vendor, please use the non-commercial areas of diyAudio to do so.

Advantage of "onken" enclosures against BR? Pensil, ...?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello!

I've seen lots of posts with different "onken" type of enclosures for several different kinds of speakers. They all look amaizing :eek:

But I can't find how they compare with a normal bass-reflex, for example.:confused:

Which are the advantages (or disadvantages) of building an *onken (Fonken, Mar-Ken, uOnken, ...) instead of a BR?

I'm a newbie to speaker DIY building, so please don't be so mean :p
I plan to buy an Alpair 10.3 and build an enclosure for it (stil don't know what kind of, maybe a Mar-Ken, that's why I'm asking :rolleyes:)

Thank you!

Hi tipex,

I have built a few of P10 Dave's Mini Onken designs with Mark Audio drivers. What I have experienced is that these designs give tight articulate bass and image well. If I am not mistaken, P10 Mini Onkens are also bass reflex cabinets, but Dave uses high aspect ratio slot ports which in theory should help give a tighter and more controlled bass response vs a typical bass reflex.

If you look at the designs with wide chamfers (mostly part of paid plan sets) - these should help with speakers sounding less boxy, as the chamfers are pretty wide compared to the overall baffle width.

I think they look pretty nice too.

Now there are trapezoidal designs too - look nicer but I am guessing a bit more challenging to build.

But if you are looking to maximize your low frequency extension, then you will do better with MLTL designs or FH-XL.

frugal-phile™
Joined 2001
Paid Member
To expand on what Zia said…