• Disclaimer: This Vendor's Forum is a paid-for commercial area. Unlike the rest of diyAudio, the Vendor has complete control of what may or may not be posted in this forum. If you wish to discuss technical matters outside the bounds of what is permitted by the Vendor, please use the non-commercial areas of diyAudio to do so.

Stuffing a Pensil

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi guys
Following advice from folks on here last year I am about to embark on a Pensil build - Pensil 7 with Alpair 7.3 drivers to be precise. (It's a year late because I've had setbacks on the penny amassing front).

The only thing I'm not clear on is stuffing, because I've never done it before. Some basic research tells me that I want long-haired sheep's wool but I'm very hazy on what to actually do with it. My main issue is how to keep it in place. I just can't imagine that it won't gradually fall down under its own weight and gather at the bottom of the cabinet. I am unlikely to use the brace because of build complexity and I gather that it is less necessary for the narrower pensils.

Are my fears well founded? Will lining the walls with some rough material help to hold the wool in place? Or am I missing something about stuffing techniques?

Many thanks in advance
Ross

Hmmm, not getting much response to this very noob question. I can't believe no-one on here has stuffed a speaker cabinet before :) Am I asking in the wrong way?

I don't want to duplicate if that would annoy people - should I move this (or request it to be moved) to the Markaudio forum since I'm asking about the Pensil design?

Stuffing is often held in place by resting on, or otherwise adhered to a brace.