New planar drivers at Parts Express

Thanks for providing a link. I skimmed all the pages for measurements, but somehow missed those:)
They look good, especially considering that you're using a very expanded vertical scale. Everything seems to go south below 600hz though:(
If I get a lot of variation in my pair of slims, Ill probably be sending them back. Sadly, my pair of BG Neo 10's had variations that were just too hard to live with(I may have damaged one). My BG neo 3's are fine though. If need be, I can take these up to 800hz with an 8th. I could live with that if it means better consistency

I damaged a few of my first set with too many rounds of solder/desolder. Units developed quiet wide variations btw themselves after originally being almost identical. I'm an expert level solder jockey too, so I was surprised, but when I called BG and talked with Chris Brunhaver, he explained how easy it was to deform the diaphragm material with too much heat. On the second set, I only ever used crimp on terminals to attach the speaker wires and the units have remained very consistent freq response over about 5 years now.

Word to wise. Using any of the planar drivers, DO NOT SOLDER.

Chris is now with PS Audio and working on revisions of their forthcoming (any century now) speaker line. Current versions are using a modified version of the Neo10/Neo3 coaxial design like in the BG Z62 center channel.

Greg

Attachments

• Zbridge-driverassembly.jpg
    Zbridge-driverassembly.jpg
    20.4 KB · Views: 1,318
Have not listened, but tested two samples. big hd peak at 1.5khz, so using it as a mid was out of the question. As a tweeter crossed at or above 2k with a relatively steep slope would probably work well though, especially for the price. I was only interested in it's application as a mid, and who knows, it may still sound great in that configuration, but the 1.5khz hd made it a nonstarter for me

music soothes the savage beast
Joined 2004
Paid Member