some can help out in making a popper CSD waterfall ?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Question ! i was tryin to measure this weird driver YouTube

i am no expert in taking measurements. so i compared some settings from cumulative spectral decay measurements from this video of new record day alias GR audio. since i want to to make those plots to and be able to help me in maybe changing stuff for the better.

here are the examples i used YouTube

And made this measurement. and a picture of my settings , if you see something completely out of wack let me know.

Window used 4ms

CSD on

time window 4ms

rise time 0.6.

in the video they used 0.58ms not sure what that matters.

I adjusted the bottom floor to -25dB from the overall spl not the peak at 3Khz just as i see in the clio measurements from GR. although they do use the peak , then there would be less detail, i thought this might be more fair.

Ii measured at 0.25 meter and compensated the SPL for it. so the spl seen is actual spl at 1 meter. to get my room and noise floor down. (i know for such a huge thing also not ideal in frequency response to measure that close, but thats not what i am looking for now)

Driver tested is the big ribbon.

Attachments

• spectral.jpg
    spectral.jpg
    356.9 KB · Views: 239
  • Spectral settings.jpg
    Spectral settings.jpg
    290.3 KB · Views: 240
  • 20191110_184607.jpg
    20191110_184607.jpg
    1,019.2 KB · Views: 244
  • 20191110_183133.jpg
    20191110_183133.jpg
    961 KB · Views: 244
Last edited:
I look forward to some expert advice here too

Looks to me like theres some energy storage between 3-4 khz, 8k, 10k, quite typical, BUT what confuses me is how quickly its down to nothing. Doesnt seem possible that area down to nothing that quick ??