Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Planars & Exotics ESL's, planars, and alternative technologies

lectrostaComplete newbie.. Cheapish electrostatic speaker build
lectrostaComplete newbie.. Cheapish electrostatic speaker build
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 1st June 2014, 03:49 AM   #1
zunehdrocks is offline zunehdrocks
diyAudio Member

Default lectrostaComplete newbie.. Cheapish electrostatic speaker build

I am completely new to electrostatic speakers and am thinking of making one just for fun.
I was using these as tutorials:
ESL Driver Construction

http://www.introni.it/pdf/Sanders%20...ook%201995.pdf

I'm not sure what I have to connect to what so can you guys help me on that?
Also, am I missing any parts (or am I using the wrong part) ?
Thanks for the help

7VA Toroidal Voltage Transformers Audio Transformer Dual 110V 115V120V 50 60Hz | eBay

Emco F40 High Voltage Power Supply Module 4KV 4 000 Volts Brick "A" Grade | eBay

3M 4941 VHB Double-Sided Acrylic Foam Tape, 45 mil, 0.5" x 5 Yards (Dark Grey): Adhesive Tapes: Amazon.com: Industrial & Scientific

Custom Speaker Grills

McMaster-Carr
Old 1st June 2014, 07:29 AM   #2
Calvin is offline Calvin  Germany
diyAudio Member

Hi,

welcome to the pleasure dome and the hell of electrostatics
It´s nice to see that You´ve already informed Yourself about the whats and whys, but I suggest to follow this ´theoretical´ path a little further before starting to collect parts and devices.
I mean, that You might be better off if You think about and decide for a certain concept first.
As usual I suggest to build a medium or smaller sized Hybrid-Panel first as the chance of success is alot higher than with a FR panel and the output can for sure be way better in any respect.