PC Crossover advice

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,

I'm a complete noob, I asked about building an amplifier a few months ago but I don't have the time to learn everything required to safely build one with a higher budget as I'm currently a student. I've mulled over what to do over the past few months so finally I've decided I'll do a digital crossover as a starter to try and get better audio. I read somewhere that it might be better? Not too sure about that. Trying to do this without spending any money except of course some cheap/decent speaker cable for extra amplifier channels.

I've decided I'll use Jriver as the software. If there is a better way let me know I did not do too much research but it seems to me this would be simple enough. I already have store bought speakers and a 7 channel receiver and an HTPC using HDMI as a source. My speakers each have 3 drivers (2 mids and a tweeter) so I'll be using 6 channels.

I don't know how to reverse engineer the crossover so I thought of another way to find out where each driver is crossed over. I think I may be able to disable 2 drivers and run a sweep and see where the SPL goes down using a phone SPL app which also tells the frequency. I could also use a tone generator to get somewhat more accurate measurements and narrow down the results, feed them into jriver and voila. Seems simple enough for a newb.

A potential hiccup I foresee is that the speakers have a 5 way binding post I could wire the drivers directly to the posts but can I wire the 2 mids to one set of posts or it won't work? Also gonna try and upgrade the internal wiring while I'm at it.

Is my plan sound? or am I gonna destroy my drivers or something else as I've read people might do with active crossovers without proper knowledge.