Digital active speaker PC sound card/DAC solution

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi guys,
Looking for advice on my front end solution.

My aim is to have a flexible PC based system with digital active 2.1 for music, and 5.1 for films.

I'm currently completing a pair of digital active speakers using the crossover in JRiver and the sound is really coming together to be very good (thank god!).I have been using my PC's soundcard for testing/setup. I also have REW and a calibrated Mic. The speakers are a huge outlay for me, but this is an ultimate build attempt, so I really want to get the front end right.

I have been focusing on the speaker side of things for the last 6 years or so am out of touch with what the latest is on the software and DAC/soundcard front.

I need a solution for the soundcard/DAC part along with the software end so I can run:

Active 3 or 4 way L + R speakers (6 or 8 channels)
Passive C, Rear L and Rear R and sub speakers for 5.1.

This totals 10 or 12 channels. I know JRiver can do this, but I don't know if there are any drawbacks that I need to be aware of, or better solutions?

The thing is, I need to know that whatever soundcard or DAC I use, the sound quality must be very good, and self noise low, as my speakers have a horn mid range and are 110db at 1w/1m.

Is there a good value or DIY option for the DAC? When I last looked, MiniDSP was great on paper, but high self noise caused problems.
What would you build or buy for the front end?
What software do I want to run with JRiver to get the best out of the speakers?
Convolution? Rephrase? Are these possible for my setup?

Is there anything else I might want to know before I start buying things? (Delay issues with films and convolution etc)

Thanks.

Last edited: