ES9018K2M, ES9028Q2M, 9038Q2M DSD/I2S DAC HATs for Raspberry Pi

Joined 2003
Paid Member
Greg> Who am I to argue. That post was indeed borderline article material.

Sorry, I tend to write verbose posts. If you think they are bad, you should see one of my emails!

I think we agree on most things but use very different language. I totally agree that my previous post was a very simplified description. To be perfectly frank, if I tried using complicated language I would probably just embarrass myself.

I think you do very well. I suspect English is not your first language... I know I'd be lost trying to write in any other language.

I believe in simplicity where possible. I usually try to work with basic physics as much as possible. Keeping it simple leaves less room for errors. I am an amateur after all. :)

I agree that simple is best for amateurs (such as myself). That's why I tend to use multiple power supplies... a pro (such as John Swenson) can do as well or better with a single supply. I cannot, but I can do darned well with multiple ones. EVEN though that seems complex, using multiple supplies is a simple way to improve power supplies in a DIY setup over a single (but well-engineered) complex one. BUT when one can engineer that complex one, they will likely do better... or at least as well with lower cost and real-estate.

I also believe in the law of diminishing returns. The trick lies in finding a good balance.

I look at this as more of a matter of how far one is willing to go. I haven't found a limit to improvements yet and have a LONG set of lists of things to try. AND I've found that sometimes something that produces a small improvement by itself will enable larger improvements by other techniques. It's complicated.