accourate/audiolense/etc for linkwitz pluto eq.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi. Newbie here so go easy :) im just introducing myself to the world of fully active audio.. im considering options for a cost effective but top quality setup.

I recently heard about the linkwitz pluto speakers, and they look like a very interesting project. However the analogue circuitry is a bit over my head price and skills wise.

This lead me to research dsp and software alternatives, which are by all accounts quite possible, but crossover and filter theory is currently a bit beyond me too.
I could obviously haunt the forums and get something together, but,

my question is this:

if accourate is capable of analysing and correcting individual drivers along with room correction, would it be a viable solution to build the speakers and let accourate set up all the crossovers, eq and delays etc necessary to get a good result with this design? Id imagine using the results in jriver convolver or a minidsp.

Basically from my limited understanding it seems viable, but maybe there are aspects of the performance of these speakers that accourate etc cannot correctly deal with?

Any pointers most appreciated..

It's a pretty complex subject.

Acourate or rePhase (free tool to start with) are not doing the job for you.
These are tools supporting you.
You need to have a basic understanding of measuring, analyzing, filters, speaker/crossover construction asf asf.
You'll have endless options to do this or that. Many filter settings are
a matter of taste. There is no right or wrong many times. That'll make things much worse for the beginner.

Then you need e.g. REW to do the measurments. You need a good microphone and a good audio interface for doing the recordings.
The learning curve will be pretty steep though. It'll take some time though.