Daphile - Audiophile Music Server & Player OS

Hi,

Im new to Daphile. Just created a boot sd drive for my 2014 mac mini. When i power up the mac mini the screen just stops on blank. Does any of you know what is happening? Ive tested the sd card booting on my 2015 macbook pro and the daphile boot sd boot disk came up and it was working. Please help.

Also when i dont have wifi on the mac mini, will it configure internet automatically using the ethernet? I really need in depth guidance, am trying to compare this vs the beta version of audirvana studio running on my mac mini. I will be using upnp protocol to my network renderer/endpoint. Looking fwd to hear back from you guys! Thanks

Hi kerisabe,

I am running Daphile on a 2008 Macbook and I could not get it to boot from a USB drive. The way I got around this was to burn the daphile .iso file to CD. I was then able to boot the Macbook from the CD and did the install from there.

I also run the Macbook using the ethernet port and it just worked, nothing to configure.

For info I later enabled the wifi just to see if it worked, which it did, but I just use the ethernet connection.

On LMS you can easily change the location of your playlists in the gui. But it seems you can't do it so easily in Daphile.

Daphile runs a memory-based filesystem on top of read-only squashfs. That gives it resiliency to abrupt power cuts. However, any changes not stored to its internal config (probably on a separate small partition, I have not checked) will be lost upon shutdown.

Probably you could make changes to unsquashfsed filesystem (image file rootfs in the downloaded iso, likely copied into the main partition of daphile installation), compress it with squashfs again, and copy to the original location in daphile drive, while having booted from some linux live flash. IIRC LMS is located in /opt, maybe just changing some config file in the unwrapped filesystem would do.

Last edited: