input (from Graetzs) is on left , output to load (amp) is on right

Attachments

• PSU pcb top.jpg
    PSU pcb top.jpg
    86.1 KB · Views: 411
  • PSU pcb bottom.jpg
    PSU pcb bottom.jpg
    58.1 KB · Views: 404
I’m not good at explaining theory but a choke is a reactive component with no resistive losses. A choke should give better regulation since it stores energy and has less losses than an bunch of resistors for a power supply filter. Inductors in the power supply are good at reducing ripple. Again this isn’t always the case but in a lot of cases. I’m not fully qualified like the pros here but I’m sure someone will give a better explanation than I did.

Just building on the differences between CRC vs CLC approach:
1) PS Stability
- Selection of L values is very important for CLC as you could theoretically build an unstable power supply, typically you need rather big inductors for the required range
- While CRC is wasting energy, it also makes it unconditionallt stable
2) Magnetic influence
- Inductors in CLC could have magnetic effect on the rest of the circuit
- CRC does not have this effect obviously
3) Ripple reduction (when designed with right parameters)
- CLC is a 2nd order low pass filter: eg 12 db slope
- CRC is a 1st order: eg 6 db. Hence CLC could suppress PS ripple theoretically better but again requires a more careful consideration

So my humble 2 cents: very difficult to call out singular best approach, one needs to consider multiple dimensions for a PS

Hope it helps, (well nothing conclusive so probably not, but still :))

Just building on the differences between CRC vs CLC approach:
1) PS Stability
- Selection of L values is very important for CLC as you could theoretically build an unstable power supply, typically you need rather big inductors for the required range
- While CRC is wasting energy, it also makes it unconditionallt stable
2) Magnetic influence
- Inductors in CLC could have magnetic effect on the rest of the circuit