Go Back   Home > Forums > >

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

F4 power amplifier
F4 power amplifier
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 7th October 2020, 09:09 PM   #4871
PKI is offline PKI  United States
diyAudio Member
 
PKI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
F4 power amplifier
BTW I have my new built running nice with the Aikido preamp. I like what I hear a lot.
  Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2020, 01:22 AM   #4872
ggetzoff is offline ggetzoff  United States
diyAudio Member
 
ggetzoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Southwest
Quote:
Originally Posted by peppennino View Post
Decware clone?
No, RH84.

RH Amplifiers: RH84 amplifier - revision 2
__________________
Airline Pilot-If it's not Boeing I'm not going.
Aleph J, F4, DCB1, VHEX +, USSA-5, BA-3 Pre, DCG3, USSPA, Transcendent Sound Masterpiece (sold) TDA1541A D3, RH84, D3 Build guide
  Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2020, 08:13 AM   #4873
peppennino is offline peppennino  Italy
diyAudio Member
 
peppennino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sicily
Very nice schematic
__________________
"Diyers are the happiest audiophiles: they have the opportunity to be deeply involved in what they are doing and it provides a lot of satisfaction". Nelson Pass
  Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2020, 02:15 PM   #4874
soldersmoker is offline soldersmoker  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
F4 power amplifier
Uh-oh. I was moving my main stereo to another room when I fumbled my F4 and semi-dropped it, managing to recover so it didn't hit the floor, though it landed in a chair. When I listened later, one channel was about 1/3 the loudness of the other. Switching loudspeaker connections confirmed that one channel was weak (but I'm not 100% sure it's not the preamp yet; to be confirmed later). Aside from looking for anything broken and maybe checking the bias, is there any other troubleshooting tricks I can try?
  Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2020, 03:27 PM   #4875
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
Official Court Jester
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
F4 power amplifier
preamp or not, confirm ....... then troubleshoot amp, only if needed
__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa... by Mighty ZM
  Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2020, 05:35 PM   #4876
ggetzoff is offline ggetzoff  United States
diyAudio Member
 
ggetzoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Southwest
Quote:
Originally Posted by soldersmoker View Post
Uh-oh. I was moving my main stereo to another room when I fumbled my F4 and semi-dropped it, managing to recover so it didn't hit the floor, though it landed in a chair. When I listened later, one channel was about 1/3 the loudness of the other. Switching loudspeaker connections confirmed that one channel was weak (but I'm not 100% sure it's not the preamp yet; to be confirmed later). Aside from looking for anything broken and maybe checking the bias, is there any other troubleshooting tricks I can try?
Maybe just a cracked solder joint. Check the bias on that channel. Hit all of the joints with your iron.
__________________
Airline Pilot-If it's not Boeing I'm not going.
Aleph J, F4, DCB1, VHEX +, USSA-5, BA-3 Pre, DCG3, USSPA, Transcendent Sound Masterpiece (sold) TDA1541A D3, RH84, D3 Build guide
  Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2020, 07:03 PM   #4877
soldersmoker is offline soldersmoker  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
F4 power amplifier
Oops. Yes, it looks like one of the tubes in the preamp is in need of replacement. Never mind! But at least I know how to proceed in the future in the unlikely event I need to fix the amp. Thanks, everybody.
  Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2020, 03:46 AM   #4878
cal3713 is offline cal3713
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Hi folks. So I was reading about some $20k+ amps and read that each rail had it's own power supply transformer. This cued me to realize that I had a totally unused transformer in my power supply and could easily try this out for my f4 monoblocks (image below). Both transformers are identical, 400v anteks with dual 18v secondaries.

My question is, if I do this, what should I do with the extra secondaries. I read recommendations to just heat shrink each wire and then tie up the pair. Other people recommended connecting them in parallel to a single rectifier.

Any opinions from this group?

Thanks as always.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20200909_150629.jpg (1,020.4 KB, 157 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2020, 05:07 AM   #4879
6L6 is offline 6L6  United States
diyAudio Moderator
 
6L6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Denver, Colorado
F4 power amplifier
Parallel the secondaries on each transformer. Then you have 2 transformers with only one secondary each. One transformer per rail. Voila!
  Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2020, 05:17 AM   #4880
cal3713 is offline cal3713
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Great, thanks.

I read that there could be some problems if the windings weren't matched even if nominally rated as identical. Was thinking that really wouldn't be a problem here, but thought I'd go ahead and check. In many cases, I think the concern came from using identically rated secondaries across different transformers, thereby increasing the chances of voltage differences.
  Reply With Quote

Reply


F4 power amplifierHide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power transformers versus amplifier output power..what is your option? destroyer X Solid State 39 2nd August 2019 02:58 AM
Rockford Fosgate Power 20001 bd amplifier power rating?? pachoorion Car Audio 8 8th May 2011 11:49 PM
McIntosh Power Amplifier Power Guard johnnyrt Solid State 2 23rd August 2007 11:22 PM
Output power for a power amplifier Progg70 Solid State 33 10th September 2006 09:44 AM
Amplifier 3000 Wats Rms Power + Smps Higcht Power Bestiality MARAVILLASAUDIO Class D 1 5th November 2004 05:06 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:25 AM.


Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Resources saved on this page: MySQL 15.00%
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2021 diyAudio
Wiki