Which Amp to Choose to Build

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi Guy's I am an ex electronics tech and have not been doing that for 30 years but decided after having my plinius SA250 die (having it repaired) ....it was time to look at DIY again.

I like Class A and the simplicity of the circuits etc. The big question is what amp is the best to build. I have martin logan SL3's not an easy load but i don't play them super loud and prefer sound stage and presence over volume.

So given I use to build and design instruments in a science lab I know I can build anything no issue there just wanting advice and opinions on which amp of all these options will provide the best sound? I need Balanced input too as I run a balanced Theta Casablanca Preamp.

Thanks in Advance.

Rick

Last edited:
Just finished building the Aleph J and I love it with my horns but into 4 ohms it will not put out a lot of power. From the spec's it only has 13 watts at 4 ohms and those speakers will require more than that if you want more than casual listening. Electrostatics as a rule need power to wake up.

Just finished building the Aleph J and I love it with my horns but into 4 ohms it will not put out a lot of power. From the spec's it only has 13 watts at 4 ohms and those speakers will require more than that if you want more than casual listening. Electrostatics as a rule need power to wake up.

Do you have any other suggestions i assume a F5Turbo might fit but it looks like it is singled ended not sure if it can be bridged and or run balanced?

Thanks Rick