Amp Camp Pre+Headphone Amp - ACP+

ACP+ Prototype.

I have built own PCB, mostly kept same design as Mr. Nelson Pass' but with smaller size to use hammond chasis.

From smoke test, I failed with one channel, R13 was burnt.
I have disassembled R13, J74 and Optocoupler. Optocoupler itself is okay, but when it is connected to board (without J74 and R13) the voltage across R13 differs for two channels. (One with 23.96V, the other is 23.74V)
I will try with new Optocoupler from On-semi. (Previous one from Vishay)
Is there anything else should I check?
I didn't matched j74, not even measured Idss, since I had only four in the drawer. Is Idss matching critical for this design? (Using V variant)

Attachments

• 20200403_102658.jpg
    20200403_102658.jpg
    988.6 KB · Views: 1,168
Joined 2019
Paid Member
No Sibling Rivalry

Great to see that so many of these are getting built!

I had been using the ACP+ for several months as a HP amp with some 32 ohm planars. It became my "go to" amp with those phones.

I recently had a bit of time to swap out some equipment "just to see". I had seen that the ACP+ had been referred to as a "mini-J2". So, for grins, I put the ACP+ in as a pre-amp with ZM's Babel J2.

I still don't know exactly what contributes to great sound, or why. Before DIY, I was in the camp of "bigger must be better" and all the other audiophile nervosusussses (nervosi?) :D This "little" thing with a switching power supply and "stock" parts is absolutely brilliant. I'm starting to try and understand some of the commonalities among circuits that I personally like and think work well together. IMHO, everything I've built sounds wonderful. :D But... finding a neat combination that just sings and makes me grin from ear to ear is what it's all about.