Newbie help with F5

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello everyone,

Newbie here trying to tackle to the F5. With ACA experience I thought I would take the plunge.

Different versions and lack of step by step guidance has slowed my progress considerably.

Working on the PCB now and was wondering if someone could give me the go-ahead. I know I still need a 15 k resistor for the led.

Thanks

Attachments

• IMG_20190425_135735.jpg
    IMG_20190425_135735.jpg
    647.4 KB · Views: 562
Joined 2017
Paid Member
There is this updated guide to with new pics

Firstwatt F5 amplifier v3 - diyAudio Guides

I was in the same boat as you when I built mine. My only experience with anything was the ACA so the F5 was a big leap.

The confusing part for me was that all the guides had different information and different version of amplifier and PSU boards, so it was hard to figure out what was correct and what was out of date.

I personally used a combo of three guides. First the PDF one I think you referenced already. That had great instructions on the PSU and other things.

Second, the build guide on this forum by 6L6 - An illustrated guide to building an F5

Then the link I provided above.

The PDF guide had really good instructions on the biasing process, at least the best that I could understand, but it said to turn the adjustment pots one way to set resistance but that was the wrong way so I almost fried my amp.

Use a bulb test for sure, it saved me from certain destruction twice.

Last edited:
Joined 2002
Paid Member
The PDF guide had really good instructions on the biasing process, at least the best that I could understand, but it said to turn the adjustment pots one way to set resistance but that was the wrong way so I almost fried my amp.

Use a bulb test for sure, it saved me from certain destruction twice.

Unfortunately going by direction is not fool proof since it also depends on