Diy Monoblock SIT/VFET

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am new to the FW stuff, but it seems all I read about them is “after 30years of trying different amps, I’ve never heard one like this”. I really love the idea of a triode tube sound without all the expense and maintenance. My speakers are very large horns and 113db sensitive. So I will not require a large watt amp.

From my reading it seems like the SIT transistors are impossible to find. At this current date is there a possibility to make this a reality? Would I be better off building a pair of monoblocks with a different topology? My room dictates that I must have monoblocks due to how I designed and wired it. I have enclosures in the front of the room with xlr inputs and speaker wire wall plate outlets that run to behind my mains. Be easy on a newbie please. Currently using a vta70 tube amp I built. I found bob’s instructions to be very straightforward and hope to find as much ease in the ss world.

ji04uH5.jpg

Last edited:
Joined 2002
Paid Member
Nice setup!

I can think of a few possibilities:

1) SissySIT:
SissySIT

Zen Mod has a kit available (minus the SIT and input transformer).
The Tokin SIT is still available, for example, from user Pras1170

2) L'amp:

L'Amp: A simple SIT Amp

You should be able to build one using the Tokin or other still available parts like
the 2sk180. The are three variations depending on the loading (with light bulbs,
inductor, or constant current source)

3) Watch for the release of the next Sony Vfet-based project from Mr. Pass.
That should be in the coming months. The expectation is there will be kits
including vfets available.

Hope this helps.

Dennis

Official Court Jester
Joined 2003
Paid Member
I really like your setup!!