Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

How to use these huge caps in PSU for F5?
How to use these huge caps in PSU for F5?
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 9th October 2018, 06:59 AM   #1
Hubba is offline Hubba  Sweden
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Östergötland
Default How to use these huge caps in PSU for F5?

I've got my hands on some really huge 68000uF/40V caps, or rather four of them (may get an additional two), and I'm thinking about doing a PSU for my F5 using them as I kind of like the look of them.

However, my skills in the PSU domain are limited at best, so I would appreciate some help. Using the standard Pass F5 PSU schematic, is it possible to simply replace C1&C2, C3&C4...with one of the caps, or would that mess things up?

Thanks,
Fredrik
Attached Images
File Type: jpg file-3.jpg (443.5 KB, 371 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2018, 07:15 AM   #2
aspringv is offline aspringv  Australia
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sydney, NSW
How to use these huge caps in PSU for F5?
No reason you can't swap them straight in frankly. There's no penalty of any form, and macho manly sized power supply's are all the range here at diyaudio

I've a set of 8 100000uF 30V caps here somewhere, that i'd intended to use in a similar amp. However they're too big for the largest heatsink cases I could make sooo... they've remained unused!
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2018, 07:51 AM   #3
Hubba is offline Hubba  Sweden
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Östergötland
Thanks for the reply Aspringv,

So, if I would get my hand on two additional caps (having in total 6 available for use) could I throw them into the mix as well? What I'm thinking is that the amount of uF will be different before and after the R in the CRC circuit. (i.e 1x68000-R-2x68000).

Is that "unbalance" a bad thing?

Thanks,
Fredrik
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2018, 11:49 AM   #4
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
Official Court Jester
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
How to use these huge caps in PSU for F5?
with that much , no need for CRC , go with simple C

though, use space and put (at least) 50uF motor runs in parallel
__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa...© by Mighty ZM
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2018, 11:53 AM   #5
KatieandDad is offline KatieandDad  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member
 
KatieandDad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: UK
You might need to consider a slow-start circuit as the in-rush current might be quite high.
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2018, 01:25 PM   #6
Soundhappy is offline Soundhappy  France
diyAudio Member
 
Soundhappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Montpellier near Mediterranean Sea France
On the PSU schematic CL-60 thermistors do slow-start work, so no worry about in-rush current.
Try first time Your new PSU with cheap speakers.
If you need buy components or have 15000 uF ~ 25000 uF then configuration
can be CRC first cap ~ 20KuF + 4x 0.47R | 3watt's metal oxide
( or 1x 0.1R | 20 watt's wirewound ) power resistor :
50W/100W 0.01-5k Ohm Watt Shell Power Aluminum Housed Case Wirewound Resistor | eBay
+ second cap 68KuF.
Some Diyer use choke in place of resistor in CLC configuration
Attached Images
File Type: jpg D6440CA0-3285-425B-8E90-CB9F0E0A22D6.JPG (116.3 KB, 298 views)
__________________
class A amplifiers with full range speakers
sings like angels in heaven
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2018, 03:03 PM   #7
Dennis Hui is offline Dennis Hui  Canada
Hoopy Frood
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
How to use these huge caps in PSU for F5?
When I built my A30 years, I also used 68000uF caps in a CRC configuration.
The transformer was 500VA and only a single CL60 were used. I used the
spec'ed size slow blow fuse and have not had issues over the years.
__________________
We are fearless amplifier builders. A little heat doesn't scare us at all.
- NP 2002
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2018, 03:17 PM   #8
gadut is offline gadut  Indonesia
diyAudio Member
 
gadut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
I used 8pcs and it's 50V which is bigger than yours. no issue at all with CLC
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Kendeil K01.JPG (315.9 KB, 261 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20181009_211623.jpg (619.3 KB, 264 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2018, 07:58 PM   #9
Itsmee is offline Itsmee  England
diyAudio Member
 
Itsmee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
How to use these huge caps in PSU for F5?
I have a stereo F5 work horse with 4x 100,000uF Kendeil (CRC), total bias is 2.8A, 500VA transformer with 2x CL60's, and a 2A fuse (230V mains), never had any startup issues with it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2018, 08:21 PM   #10
AudioSan is offline AudioSan  Norway
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
I would use a overkill transformer with those caps. And a 2x series connected CL60 based softstart that bypass the thermistors after a little while. Do not use a softstart with parallell connected CL60.
  Reply With Quote

Reply


How to use these huge caps in PSU for F5?Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rectifier caps; go for the huge ones? hansibull Power Supplies 3 26th December 2013 05:18 AM
HUGE LOT of caps coils resistors on ebay Mattyo5 Swap Meet 12 24th November 2008 01:58 PM
FS: 100vdc Caps--Huge Caps gengis Swap Meet 4 18th May 2005 09:20 PM
FS 6 packs of HUGE caps! glhs377 Swap Meet 1 17th January 2005 05:33 PM
Are huge DC blocking caps on Zen ok? Arx Pass Labs 13 3rd November 2003 08:38 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:37 PM.


Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Resources saved on this page: MySQL 14.29%
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2018 diyAudio
Wiki