The diyAudio First Watt M2x

6L6

Joined 2010
Paid Member
The boards just looks a bit "messy" now as one resistor is a "normal" Vishay with color bands and all the others are the brown Vishay Dale RN55......will see if I can live with that :)

giphy.gif

Joined 2019
Paid Member
tl;dr - will a mix of 1/8W and 1/4W (Vishay RN55 and RN60) resistors be a proper choice for these circuits?

I am strongly considering the M2x as my first SS loudspeaker power amp build. I've read through this thread, and so far about 1/2 of the tea-bag thread along with the post of the original M2 schematic. I've also read the universal power supply threads / guides.

By the questions I ask, you can easily tell my level of knowledge. I am a new builder trying to learn. The build process has made me want to understand the "why" more. I had a blast building the WHAMMY, (enough to host a follow-up build party with 3 more people building). I want to try some new things.

I get thrown trying to determine "what specs REALLY matter" in the context of a specific circuit. When specs that are probably 2nd nature to seasoned builders are not mentioned, I get anxious.

I struggle through reading the volumes on whether or not to put a snubber in my power supply and if so, what value to use. It probably took me far longer than most of you to understand the monolithic rectifier (thanks @6L6) versus discreet components. I'm still not sure I understand how to determine the proper size for a power transformer, other than more is better (within reason and in consideration of space and EMI).