The diyAudio First Watt M2x

AUSTIN boards - Why Zetex 696B/795A?

Hello diyaudio-memebers,

I am building an M2X like you do.

At the moment I am working on the Austin inputboards. I am matching
the ZETEX devices.
Why are devices used with different hFE from NPN to PNP side?
Zetex 696B (HFE around 600-800)
Zetex 795A (HFE around 300-400).
Sorry for this stupid question - I am not an electronic engineer!

Does the different HFE-factor shift something more to the NPN - side?
Short answer is enough.

Have a nice day!
Dirk

Attachments

• M2X Austin Zetex matching.jpg
    M2X Austin Zetex matching.jpg
    102.9 KB · Views: 575
The ZETEX devices seem to be like a follower (complementary devices).
Shouldn't they have a similar HFE?

KSA992 and KSC1845 (Q1/Q2 at the input) seem to be the first stage. (looks like a diamond configuration)

The second pair of KSA992 and KSC1845 (Q3/Q4) seem to be a ccs (together with the LM4040 + R3/R6.

My brain is working....

Greets

Dirk

Joined 2011
Paid Member
By all means, please feel free to substitute different transistor part numbers when building your Austin boards. To make this a little bit easier, I put recommendations on the Austin schematic itself (upper right), and I included additional remarks in the Notes For Builders (post #4 in this thread), quoted here

2. Transistor Orientation. I expect that many builders will substitute different bipolar transistors in their Austin boards, either to use what they’ve already got, or to “improve” the Austin circuit, or to avoid ordering a new transistor type they’ve never used before, with a goofy sound prefix (KSA/KSC?? c’mon, really?).

So I’ve used a PCB footprint that is circular and symmetric.
It will accommodate Japanese transistors with ECB pinout,
it will accommodate European transistors with CBE pinout,
it will accommodate American transistors with EBC pinout.