Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

The diyAudio First Watt M2x
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 21st January 2019, 02:48 AM   #1291
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
Official Court Jester
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by stablgr View Post
Just as I've managed to get all the parts I need to build my M2x, my circumstances have somewhat changed. We're moving to a new house and SWMBO (she who must be obeyed) has expressed a very strong desire for a wireless sound system throughout So I now find myself heading in the direction of needing a really nice headphone amp so I can retire into my own little musical world without disturbing anyone else.

As a total novice in this area I think I have a relatively simple question. After having spent the time, effort and money on buying all the parts for the M2x, rather than hooking up a pair of loudspeakers to it can I use it to drive a pair of headphones directly if I add a volume pot to the input of the amp? Please don't shoot me down too harshly if this is a really stupid idea. I guess my other option would be to build a Whammy, but it would be a shame not to put all the M2x parts to good use.

Many thanks,
Gary
trade your M2 hardware , go buy Whammy thingie and build it

or even better - go buy Whammy thingie and build it , leave M2 parts in closet for better times ......
Old 21st January 2019, 06:50 AM   #1292
batty is offline batty  Australia
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zen Mod View Post
trade your M2 hardware , go buy Whammy thingie and build it

or even better - go buy Whammy thingie and build it , leave M2 parts in closet for better times ......
I like this idea