Linear Systems Matched LSJ74/LSK170 JFET pairs (Grade B)

Good evening!
I need an advise regarding the LINEAR SYSTEMS JFETS LSJ74 and LSK170. Unfortunately I’m a beginner in this field and I think I’ve made a mistake. I intend to build the F6 amp and I have ordered LSJ74 Grade A and LSK170 Grade B.I had the feeling they have to be matched only on each type of JFET ( 2 matched LSJ74 and 2 matched LSK170) , now I realize that all 4 of them have to be matched. Am I right? In this situation do I have any chance to match them somehow? what is the range anyway (10 %...)?

Thank you
Regards
PS: sorry for my English …it’s another thing that I have to improve :)

Idss and Yfs Distributions

For those who no longer have access to NOS Toshiba’s JFETs, the Linear System equivalent (LSK170 and LSJ74) becomes the only alternatives.

However, little data or statistics have been published about these substitutes.
Earlier, we have published some noise data for the LSK170 compared to the original 2SK170.
Recently, we have gained access to 50 pairs of the LS devices (B grade), and have taken some measurements of them.

So here they are.
They would no doubt be of interest to those who intend to use them instead of paying extra for the NOS Toshiba’s.

Firstly the Idss and Yfs distribution of both the N.channel and P-channel JFETs.
As can be seen, there is quite a bit of spread in Yfs for the same Idss.
This is especially so for the LSJ74.

Furthermore, while the LSK170s have very similar Yfs as the Toshiba’s, the LSJ74s have much lower Yfs (~25mS) than the 2SJ74 (~40mS).
This should be taken into account when trying to substitute the 2SJ74s directly with 2SK170s.

Patrick

Attachments

• LS Yfs vs Idss.png
    LS Yfs vs Idss.png
    93.5 KB · Views: 1,064
How about the matching yield ?

A matching pool of 50 pairs is a reasonable size for hobbists, especially considering the asking price of the LS JFETs.