Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Can I build one?
Can I build one?
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 6th November 2017, 06:12 PM   #1
damkel is offline damkel  Denmark
diyAudio Member

Default Can I build one?

Hi

I love to build things, and I am not a complete beginner when working with either wood or metal.
But I have never build an amplifier or something like that.
I can solder - so far so good.

But, can I build one of these Pass Labs amplifiers, maybe phone amplifier.
Can I as an absolute beginner build something like that?
If I follow a build guide but without really knowing what I am doing will I get something that works and work well?
Also, what will I need of tools?
I got solder station, and a multimeter (and a lot of what I will can normal/basic tools) but what else will I need?

And a bonus question :-)
How is the best way to get basic knowledge about amplifiers etc.?

I hope this is not stupid questions but as funny as it is to make something well it is even better when it works :-)
Old 6th November 2017, 06:46 PM   #2
scottjoplin is offline scottjoplin  Wales
diyAudio Member

Well well it's almost as if Nelson was thinking of you when he came up with this Amp Camp Amp Kit – diyAudio Store
Old 6th November 2017, 08:36 PM   #3
vdi_nenna is offline vdi_nenna  United States
diyAudio Member

Can I build one? Send a message via Yahoo to vdi_nenna
Don't rush your project.
Measure each resistor and check it's wattage before soldering on to the board.
Check all parts that have polarity: diodes, electrolytic capacitors and semiconductors and make sure you are installing them in the correct orientation on the boards.