Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

FirstWatt F6
FirstWatt F6
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 4th November 2017, 03:00 PM   #1
JANKAR is offline JANKAR  Finland
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Default FirstWatt F6

Hi, i have build F6 amp and i need advise how to set bias voltage. I now this ( starting with a meter across the 0.47ohm source resistor ) but which is source resistor? ( R?).
How i now when trip pot is turned all the way down before turn power on?
Thanks.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 2017-11-04-310.jpg (124.1 KB, 771 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2017, 03:48 PM   #2
ColinA123 is offline ColinA123  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Shropshire
R2 0.47 (they are in different places so be sure.
You must start with a current limiting device (bulb tester)
As an example my pots work backwards so be ready for that!
If you have 6.2v zenners fitted start with the adjusters set about half way.
Switch on with the current limiter fitted and watch the voltage across R2, this will rise slowly as the caps charge. (If it seems to run away switch off and try adjusting the pots.)
Just look for enough voltage to start the mosfets getting warm.
Make sure that you know which way the adjuster is working.

Turn down the bias and remove the current limiter.
Start again raising the bias slowly and balancing offset.

It is all in the build guide.
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2017, 05:49 PM   #3
JANKAR is offline JANKAR  Finland
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Thankīs , working fine and mine pots work backwards too.
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2017, 07:40 PM   #4
ColinA123 is offline ColinA123  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Shropshire
Well done, now enjoy it while letting it stabilize.
I would check again in a couple of days.
  Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2017, 01:13 AM   #5
Bare is offline Bare  Canada
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: vancouver
Congrats!
Note that IF? you used 1st world quality parts there is small to no need to revisit bias settings.
Good insurance no doubt... but. You should find that little has drifted
  Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2017, 03:12 PM   #6
JANKAR is offline JANKAR  Finland
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Just finished and i also have build B1 and they sounds great.
My speakers is Cain&Cain Abby but i also have Magnepan 1,6 but i donīt know if F6 have enough power to drive them.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20171106_153820.jpg (123.1 KB, 589 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20171106_153842.jpg (132.3 KB, 565 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20171106_154159.jpg (144.4 KB, 563 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20171106_153913.jpg (101.4 KB, 553 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2017, 03:38 PM   #7
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
Official Court Jester
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
FirstWatt F6
at least put Clone somewhere
__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa...Đ by Mighty ZM
  Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2017, 04:02 PM   #8
JANKAR is offline JANKAR  Finland
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zen Mod View Post
at least put Clone somewhere
I have thinking about it, course these are made for my self
  Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2017, 04:11 PM   #9
vdi_nenna is offline vdi_nenna  United States
diyAudio Member
 
vdi_nenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: PA, USA
FirstWatt F6 Send a message via Yahoo to vdi_nenna
Let us know how the F6 drives the Magnepans.
__________________
I build, therefore I am.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2017, 12:27 PM   #10
JANKAR is offline JANKAR  Finland
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Quote:
Originally Posted by JANKAR View Post
Just finished and i also have build B1 and they sounds great.
My speakers is Cain&Cain Abby but i also have Magnepan 1,6 but i donīt know if F6 have enough power to drive them.
Hi i have a problem, i try to adjust bias a bit higher and something goes wrong. I can bias only less than 0,1v (left channel) right is ok.
  Reply With Quote

Reply


FirstWatt F6Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Firstwatt F1J Tea-Bag Pass Labs 105 17th September 2018 10:58 AM
FirstWatt J2 Blues Pass Labs 1140 19th March 2018 05:27 PM
Firstwatt new protoype???? mikojat Pass Labs 2 1st December 2011 02:07 AM
FirstWatt.com Rory Christ Pass Labs 121 31st May 2004 07:02 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:39 PM.


Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Resources saved on this page: MySQL 14.29%
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2018 diyAudio
Wiki