Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

B1 with Korg Triode
B1 with Korg Triode
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 7th May 2019, 12:21 AM   #2281
Enochrome is offline Enochrome  United States
diyAudio Member

I was not sure where to post this question, but I have a Millet NuTube buffer board and when completed and hooked up to a 12v 5ah battery I get a loud buzzing sound. Could this be a ground issue? It is very loud and has to be shut off immediately. Does there need to be a chassis ground? Sorry for the basic question this is my first project. Here are some photos of the board, power supply, and volume pot:
Click the image to open in full size.

I did have trouble soldering the board, in that I put some of the caps the wrong way and had to redo them, so some of the solder joints might not be great.

Any help appreciated. Thanks!
Old 7th May 2019, 12:27 AM   #2282
Eric is offline Eric  United States
diyAudio Member

B1 with Korg Triode
Thanks for recommendation, Tim - I wasn't thinking of these sources.

I finally put my bare boards into a chassis. The chassis came with a nice 10mm front panel that was too think to allow me to mount the controls and switches, so I replaced it with chunk of cedar left over from a closet project. I still need to replace the silver screws on the front panel with black ones and add a knob to the volume pot. The combination of the stepped attenuator and aluminum chassis makes things resonate a bit, so I need to add some damping to the chassis and add some rubber grommets to the PCB mounts.

I LOVE the sound when combined with my MoFo amp! I'm likely to complete my VFet2 amp next, so I'm looking forward to that combination, too!