Aleph J illustrated build guide

Planning to change the MOSFETS on my faulty Aleph J. Looking into the option suggested by Extreme_Boky to buy a tube (25 MOSFETS) from the same batch from Mouser. And even if Extreme_Boky said they would be quite well matched, I would still like to make sure and measure them myself to check and choose.

Could anybody refer me to some good thread of the procedure to match MOSFETS, or perhaps exlain it right here what jig should I make, what power supply voltage I need and what to measure exactly? Vgs? I've never done that before, but I would like to try and learn from that.

Planning to change the MOSFETS on my faulty Aleph J. Looking into the option suggested by Extreme_Boky to buy a tube (25 MOSFETS) from the same batch from Mouser. And even if Extreme_Boky said they would be quite well matched, I would still like to make sure and measure them myself to check and choose.

Could anybody refer me to some good thread of the procedure to match MOSFETS, or perhaps exlain it right here what jig should I make, what power supply voltage I need and what to measure exactly? Vgs? I've never done that before, but I would like to try and learn from that.

Yes, check them - definitely, as I did for my Aleph J. The fact was - they were all matched really well.... I cherry-picked 4 pairs for my build. The probability you'll get at least 4 tightly matched pares, is quite high if you get a tube from the same batch :).

Last edited:
we made consensus eons ago, lower third line is best

now I'm too old to dispute that

:rofl: