Pass Aleph P 1.7 preamp builders thread

Joined 2004
Paid Member
I have a set of AP1.7 boards from Veteran that I built over 10 years ago and thought I had made a mistake somewhere or had ground loops or burned/bad mosfets ... could never get rid of the hum/hiss and then gave up. I should also add that I've never tried it with any attenuator on the input, only on the output.

Thank you AlbertNL for the work you did and for sharing this because I never found DangerMouse's post in all these years and I never would have been able to investigate as you did. I will try adding 221R to the input of my boards and let you know if it cures the noise for me as it did for you! Thank you Danger Mouse and Generg as well!

And of course, thank you Nelson Pass!

I used REW to have a look at the output of the amp (with the 221R resistors in series with the input). I think I have tamed the oscillation.

Interesting to note that I measure dominant in-phase 3rd harmonic. I am new to REW and similar software, so not sure if my measurement setup was correct. More testing in the coming days I think.

attachment.php

attachment.php

Attachments

• REW 2i2 -10dBFS 1kHz LEFT channel Vol 41.png
    REW 2i2 -10dBFS 1kHz LEFT channel Vol 41.png
    128.7 KB · Views: 709
  • REW 2i2 -10dBFS 1kHz RIGHT channel Vol 41.png
    REW 2i2 -10dBFS 1kHz RIGHT channel Vol 41.png
    128.9 KB · Views: 676
It looks like the distortion/oscillation issue is finally fixed. Just to reiterate, I run the amp with the 10k input resistors bypassed and made 3 modifications:
  • gate stopper resistors (gain irf610's only; 4x) changed from 221R to 620R. Did not fix the problem but I left them in as I could not be bothered to remove the board from the case again. I may suffer some high frequency roll off as a result, but at my age I will probably not hear it.
  • added 221R in series with the input (IN+ and IN-, L + R; 4x). Fixed the problem.
  • 10uF film cap across psu zener stack (dual mono; 2x).