Amp Camp Amp - ACA

I use one side of ACA chassis to have cool output capacitors :)

Attachments

• DSC_3812.jpg
    DSC_3812.jpg
    292.1 KB · Views: 384
  • DSC_3813.jpg
    DSC_3813.jpg
    258.4 KB · Views: 379
I built my amp camp amps in September and I was immediately struck with the lively & very musical character of these amps. However, there were a few things that did not quite suit my system so I started playing with the design in spice but I thought that the overall lovely character of the sound was worth experimenting with.

I found that the high output impedance did not give the bass control I was used to so after more experimentation in spice I found that making R1 & R2 0 ohms and moving those resistors to add to the resistance of R3 & R4 gave a much lower o/p impedance. In spice I could find no drawbacks to this and in real life it sounds just fine.

I do not use preamps so for my system with 2 way 89db / W /M transmission line speakers I needed a little more closed loop gain. After a lot of model testing in spice I found the IPP600N25N3 and this gave enough extra open loop gain to make a CLG of 10 or 12 possible.

So I made some new prototype PCBs to accommodate the TO220 IPP600N25N3s and with these two mods combined I can get an o/p Z of about 0.13R which when combined with the crossover series impedance gives an overall damping factor of about 20 which is quite reasonable with my 8" drivers.

The prototype boards were also designed for SM resistors so I could use the excellent Susumu RG2012 resistors throughout ( except for the WW power resistors ) Also I added the option for an input filter & snubberized bypass caps for the rails.

These boards are now up & running & the sound is quite astonishing - more detailed than the original ACAs ( actually more detailed than any amp I have every heard ! ) but still very musical and engaging.