Amp Camp Amp - ACA

Hi all, Question about the Switch on the back and the XLR connector. From the pictures posted for the 1.6 build that the XLR connector is installed along with the unbalanced input RCA inputs. Is the Switch on the back used to switch between using the Amp as a mono block or Stereo? I'm confused to this addition from the 1.5 version.

Yes I'm a novice building, and please excuse me if this has been covered elsewhere :).

Good luck on all your builds.

Mark

Mpitogo, that is one nice setup! :) I especially like the McIntosh and the Denon TT. Is it a direct drive? I ask because I was able to score a nice DP-1250 a few months back and found it to be phenomenal (not quite SP-10 material, but good enough for me at least).

Motospark, the short answer is 'yes'. But I'll let those more experienced than myself chime in with more details as I haven't yet tried mine in bridged mode.

Last edited:

6L6

Joined 2010
Paid Member
motospark -

The switch is not necessarily used to make it a monoblock, if you use the XLR, it's going to be bridged automatically. It is, however, used to make it bridged mono from the RCA inputs.

Stereo single ended, use RCA connectors on both RCA jacks and attach L and R speaker to the respective speaker posts.

Monoblock XLR, use the XLR jack and take speaker output from the two black posts.

Monoblock RCA, use the Left RCA for input, leave the right empty, flip the switch up, and take speaker output from the two black posts.

Hello,

Just finished building an amp camp amp. Very nice sounding, plenty loud with my 4PI speakers. Surprising how much bass they drive the 15" driver with.
Great kit. Thanks to all who worked so hard to produce them.

Greg

I own those exact speakers and was looking forward to how they sounded with the ACA's!

Are you using one or did you build mono blocks?

...Whenever I run into these mishaps, especially with SMD components, I use Chip Quik...
I'll keep my fingers crossed for you...
Best,
Anand.