Amp Camp Amp - ACA

Positron, i prefer the ten turn pots in place of the single turn pots, setting the half b+ bias takes time and patience...so depending on your wrists, you can overshoot the target and then go back and undershoot....several attempts are needed, and best to wait for the heatsinks to get warm enough...

yep..

no signal...

let warm up the amp about 30min and the check the DC Voltage for mid point e.g. 12,2V (@24V supply) with multi turn pots it is easier. be carefully so just a 1/8 turn is enough...then wait 10-15 minute and recheck. this is about 1 hour... then the turns get about 1/32 or so the get the final result..
chris

I'm new to ACA and Class A

I've been an audiophile for over 30 years but I've never used a fully Class A amp. I was wondering if I should buy one kit or go for two kits?

What would be the sonic difference between a single stereo vs. mono's?

My listening tastes and wish list is good tonal quality (a clarinet should sound like a clarinet), detail and generally good clean balanced sound.

I currently use an EL84 Sherwood amp as well as a fully restored Marantz 250M. Speakers are Zaph Audio SR71 86db sensitivity.

frugal-phile™
Joined 2001
Paid Member
Zaph Audio SR71

Pretty flat impedance, bridged will be fine. You might have to damp the bass a bit.

SR71-modeled-FR-IMP.gif

Note that the Z scale has 10Ω graticules.

dave

OK thanks, thought so

Captain spent many moons in the broadcast industry which used (prior to digital transport of audio) balanced audio. It is really two unbalanced signals which are phase inverted. And its only advantage is noise suppression in high fields of RF or other emf noise. If you don't have any of that to contend with. I've found it is really not worth the effort. It is technology stolen from the telephone company to keep the noise out of analog phone equipment. Later the broadcast and PA industry discovered they could keep noise from AM radio transmitters at bay if the connections were balanced.