Go Back   Home > Forums > >

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

F5 Turbo Builders Thread
F5 Turbo Builders Thread
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 17th January 2021, 06:39 PM   #6351
andynor is offline andynor  Norway
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: Norway
I actually have 16 extra 15000uf caps. I was actually thinking of exactly that solution today: linking them together. Any drawbacks in that approach? Should work wonderfully to reduce ripple and increase capacitance, no? Any drawbacks? I am also considering going P2P, but that is easiest with porn big caps instead of snap in’s.
__________________
Burnt & playin’ BA-3 / WLS18 in progress
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2021, 07:10 PM   #6352
verticalmammal is online now verticalmammal  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Hamsterdam
Quote:
Originally Posted by AudioSan View Post
You already got the transformer. So use that. But you can link together 2 PSU bord's to get CRCRC supply. And 16X15.000uF caps.
I mentioned to drop the diodes, but not the rectifier. But you can use monolitic bridges instead of the diodebrides. I was talking about the diodes on the outputboards (to make it e V1 instead of V2).
It's easyer to avoid groundloops with a dual mono amp. And it looks better And you might get e tiny bit less crosstalk.
Ah, my misunderstanding, thank you!

I think soon I will pick up the back panel parts kit and the soft start combo as well as a second set of Universal Power Supply boards. Wondering if I need a second transformer or if the one will get me where I want to go.

I've been studying the illustrated build guide by the wonderful 6L6, as well as a few videos by a man named Robert/NocturneVid66 on youtube. Both seem to cover building pretty much the same cascoded F5T V2s, with 6L6 running one transformer and UPS kit and Robert running two. I've noticed in Nelson's schematics there are 16 caps where the illustrated guide uses 8x22KuF to get there, very interesting. I noticed some discussion on this earlier after my first post. I definitely still have a ton of research to do.
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2021, 08:37 PM   #6353
AudioSan is offline AudioSan  Norway
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by andynor View Post
I actually have 16 extra 15000uf caps. I was actually thinking of exactly that solution today: linking them together. Any drawbacks in that approach? Should work wonderfully to reduce ripple and increase capacitance, no? Any drawbacks? I am also considering going P2P, but that is easiest with porn big caps instead of snap in’s.
No drawback what so ever
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2021, 08:38 PM   #6354
AudioSan is offline AudioSan  Norway
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by verticalmammal View Post
Ah, my misunderstanding, thank you!

I think soon I will pick up the back panel parts kit and the soft start combo as well as a second set of Universal Power Supply boards. Wondering if I need a second transformer or if the one will get me where I want to go.

I've been studying the illustrated build guide by the wonderful 6L6, as well as a few videos by a man named Robert/NocturneVid66 on youtube. Both seem to cover building pretty much the same cascoded F5T V2s, with 6L6 running one transformer and UPS kit and Robert running two. I've noticed in Nelson's schematics there are 16 caps where the illustrated guide uses 8x22KuF to get there, very interesting. I noticed some discussion on this earlier after my first post. I definitely still have a ton of research to do.
You can use the one transformer you got. It will do the job.
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2021, 09:30 PM   #6355
andynor is offline andynor  Norway
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: Norway
Quote:
Originally Posted by AudioSan View Post
No drawback what so ever
As long as it doesn’t exacerbate common impedance I am one happy camper. Thanks! Will consider.
__________________
Burnt & playin’ BA-3 / WLS18 in progress
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2021, 10:49 PM   #6356
verticalmammal is online now verticalmammal  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Hamsterdam
Quote:
Originally Posted by AudioSan View Post
You already got the transformer. So use that. But you can link together 2 PSU bord's to get CRCRC supply. And 16X15.000uF caps.
I mentioned to drop the diodes, but not the rectifier. But you can use monolitic bridges instead of the diodebrides. I was talking about the diodes on the outputboards (to make it e V1 instead of V2).
It's easyer to avoid groundloops with a dual mono amp. And it looks better And you might get e tiny bit less crosstalk.
Quote:
Originally Posted by AudioSan View Post
You can use the one transformer you got. It will do the job.
Awesome! In that case I'll order a second set of PSU boards, the soft start kit, and the back panel kit, but not an additional transformer. That should get me most of the way there, minus a digikey order or two.

This should let me follow the F5Tv2 (with cascodes) and UPSv3 illustrated build guides by 6L6 almost exactly, with the exception of the power supply configuration where I will chain two sets of capacitor/resistor boards with 16x15KuF caps instead of one set of boards with 8x~22KuF (or higher) caps, correct?

I'm glad to hear one transformer is enough, but now that I'm thinking about it, If I'm already buying a second set of PSU boards it's tempting to grab another transformer anyways, and follow Robert/NocturneVid66's build exactly. He's also building his to drive a pair of 4ohm speakers like I am, although his Magnepans are probably thirstier than my bookshelf HiVis. Another $60-80 but something tells me I will avoid crosstalk as you suggest and I suspect it may improve imaging. Plus, in the immortal words of Jeremy Clarkson, "more power!" Still not sure about it though. I'm building this as an upgrade to a working component I already own so I'm in no hurry, all the time in the world to decide on these things and fully finalize my plan. That being said I'm really excited to see this plan start to shape up, again my continued thanks for y'alls help!
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2021, 11:04 PM   #6357
AudioSan is offline AudioSan  Norway
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
you can use 2 of the transformers if you wish. It is a bit overkill but it works. 16 caps 15-22.000uF. But 2x600VA transformers + 16x22.000uF cap bank gives you a hugh inrush current. I don't know if the softstart can handle it. I've never used that one.
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2021, 11:11 PM   #6358
verticalmammal is online now verticalmammal  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Hamsterdam
Quote:
Originally Posted by AudioSan View Post
you can use 2 of the transformers if you wish. It is a bit overkill but it works. 16 caps 15-22.000uF. But 2x600VA transformers + 16x22.000uF cap bank gives you a hugh inrush current. I don't know if the softstart can handle it. I've never used that one.
Makes sense. Robert's build uses one thermistor per transformer channel so four total on the hot inputs to try and fight that, as well as one per ground in parallel with the monolithic rectifiers. But he's also not using the Soft Start board. I think one transformer with 16 caps and the soft start is my play, with one thermistor per transformer channel as well for three all day (including the ground) on the transformer side of things.

Learning a ton, really glad I chose this project.

Last edited by verticalmammal; 17th January 2021 at 11:13 PM. Reason: Typo
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2021, 10:45 PM   #6359
verticalmammal is online now verticalmammal  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Hamsterdam
Quote:
Originally Posted by AudioSan View Post
you can use 2 of the transformers if you wish. It is a bit overkill but it works. 16 caps 15-22.000uF. But 2x600VA transformers + 16x22.000uF cap bank gives you a hugh inrush current. I don't know if the softstart can handle it. I've never used that one.
After researching the Soft Start a bit more, people are reporting putting 2kVA through it with no issues. I may end up going dual mono after all, given this. I think I'll probably use 15kuF caps either way.
  Reply to this post

Reply


F5 Turbo Builders ThreadHide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
B1 builders thread Bas Horneman Pass Labs 728 12th March 2018 07:45 PM
F5 Turbo is posted Nelson Pass Pass Labs 638 27th December 2017 07:12 PM
F5 Turbo Circuit Boards chchyong89 Pass Labs 2404 8th October 2017 08:14 PM
F5 turbo problems Rob Dingen Pass Labs 17 11th January 2013 09:38 PM
F5 Turbo ............. if only !!!!!! a.wayne Pass Labs 23 21st January 2012 03:24 AM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:15 PM.


Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Resources saved on this page: MySQL 15.00%
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2021 diyAudio
Wiki