Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

F5 Turbo Builders Thread
F5 Turbo Builders Thread
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 2nd March 2020, 02:59 PM   #5941
BigE is offline BigE  Canada
diyAudio Member
 
BigE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zen Mod View Post
nope

if we are thinking about same cap
Thanks Zen Mod!

That would be C3/C4 with value around 1nF.

I will add it to the boards before continuing.

( Need to complete some other work tonight, then back the F5T -- I did a massive rewiring job on it.... for the better???? we'll see. ).
  Reply With Quote
Old 3rd March 2020, 06:43 PM   #5942
takitaj is offline takitaj  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Maine
BigE, there's probably no need but I put 1nf into all 4 boards (C3/C4). I did it as extra insurance against oscillation. (I sleep better) One nf or two isn't going to reduce the bandwidth any appreciable amount. Sleep is important!

TJ
  Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2020, 02:28 PM   #5943
BigE is offline BigE  Canada
diyAudio Member
 
BigE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by takitaj View Post
BigE, there's probably no need but I put 1nf into all 4 boards (C3/C4). I did it as extra insurance against oscillation. (I sleep better) One nf or two isn't going to reduce the bandwidth any appreciable amount. Sleep is important!

TJ
I shall do this shortly. At the moment, I am embroiled with getting an active speaker system equalized -- and adding a tweeter. It's a bit slow going.

As you wrote earlier: I wouldn't worry too much about the 100R from emitter to drain either, unless you find you have an oscillation issue and it can't be resolved by increasing C3 & C4 or increasing output gate stoppers.

Right now, they are the standard 47.5 ohm. What value would you suggest? Would adding a very small inductor help to block the oscillatory frequencies?

When I fire this up next, I will take a look at the outputs on a scope to ensure that there actually is *some* oscillation. I should be able to see something. Recall, oscillation is suspected because the biasing output offset is very different with and without shorting plugs in place. ( Some 300 mV ).

Last edited by BigE; 10th March 2020 at 02:37 PM.
  Reply With Quote

Reply


F5 Turbo Builders ThreadHide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
B1 builders thread Bas Horneman Pass Labs 728 12th March 2018 06:45 PM
F5 Turbo is posted Nelson Pass Pass Labs 638 27th December 2017 06:12 PM
F5 Turbo Circuit Boards chchyong89 Pass Labs 2404 8th October 2017 07:14 PM
F5 turbo problems Rob Dingen Pass Labs 17 11th January 2013 08:38 PM
F5 Turbo ............. if only !!!!!! a.wayne Pass Labs 23 21st January 2012 02:24 AM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:15 AM.


Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Resources saved on this page: MySQL 14.29%
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2020 diyAudio
Wiki