Building a Pearl 2

Joined 2015
Paid Member
Thanks codyt.
I'm totally new to vinyl, and don't really have a cart in mind beside the newer AT-VM95 MM which are also 3.5-4mV MM, in which case I may reduce the gain as you mention.

For supporting gain for both MM and MC with the Pearl, I can think of 2 approaches:
1) Add a switch for R14 toggling between 2 resistors for 40db and 65db gain.
2) R14 fixed gain at 40db, with dual RCA inputs, adding a 1:10 SUT between the MC sockets and the boards. (a ~12.7K resistor would also be switched into R20, so that 100R is projected to the cart)

Has anyone tried this? Is a SUT "in-line" with the design philosophy of the Pearl even?

Last edited:
Joined 2019
Paid Member
I bet you’ll find that the Pearl will have enough gain for most MC, and is probably fine as-is for many MM carts too. Your first option would be perfectly fine IMO. In fact, all I’ve done is solder pin sockets in the R14 positions, so it’s just a matter of manually swapping resistors. That said, a switch like you described would be more elegant solution.

As 6L6 often mentions, you can probably get by without that 100pf loading cap too, since your cabling will have a fair amount. Or you could treat it the same way you do the gain selector.

I have an EPC205 with Jico SAS/B and it's good but the 881 with OEM stylus is better. I was able to do a back to back with both mounted on removable headshells in my EPA100. What is immediately noticeable is the separation of the 881 imaging and sound stage fills the room more, the only place the 205/SAS beats the 881 is surface noise is lower.

There is a guy on eBay goes by the handle cartridge_retipping-5, I have one of his D3000 retipped stylus and I can't pick the difference to my OEM D81. The D3000 is currently in use.

If you have the original stylus get it retipped. I haven't tried any of the aftermarket stylus for the Stanton so I can't comment first hand.