F3 Builders Thread

Joined 2012
Paid Member
Hi Jeff,

I'm a newbie in KiCad... just made my first schematic and PCB.
Have been using MSDOS 6.2 based LAYO1PCB.exe for many years:D

I'm using 4.07 indeed, in the default mode. Didn't know there were other modes. So the default mode is for me a 25 years progress in PCB design compared to LAYO1 :D
KiCad has a steep learning curve, but I'm getting there...

About the zones, I don't think I am using them? Don't know why I should use them???
I used a zone once, to try to fill the PCB with a copper screen connected to GND. That worked. Looks nice.
Are you filling up this F3 PCB with a copper shield? Papa doesn't do this on his PCB's.
As an old HAM RF amateur I like it very much. Is it because of extra capacitance or crosstalk, that (almost) nobody is using this option? :confused:

I 'll continue the hard work on the left channel. I enjoy PCB designing, so it's no big deal. Thanks! Tips are always welcome:)

Attachments

• PCBv2.jpg
    PCBv2.jpg
    127 KB · Views: 661
Check under the View menu and you'll find OpenGL and Cairo. If OpenGL runs, then use it. Otherwise use Cairo.

You'll note that out-of-the-box the traces are no longer transparent. You can fix that by going over to the Layers palette and double-clicking on the little colour boxes.

While zones are most commonly used for things like ground planes, you can also use them to get better control over trace shapes. For instance, if you want to do something like this:

attachment.php

Is that some J2 variant you're working on?

Cheers,
Jeff.

Attachments

• zones.jpeg
    zones.jpeg
    14.8 KB · Views: 1,478
So I'm trying to get my head around the capacitance multiplier in the F3. I think I understand that R19 slows the charging of C5 down so that Q5 turns on slowly, providing a soft-start.