F5 power amplifier

83dB is moderately loud (a bit louder than a garbage disposal). That figure is presumably @ 1w @ 1m.

Sound falls off by the square of the distance. So if you're sitting 10' (3m) away from the speaker, you'll need 9w to generate the same volume.

Every 3dB louder takes twice the power. Humans experience "twice as loud" as roughly 10dB. So you need roughly 10 times the wattage to go twice as loud. Since your F5 won't push 90w, you're only going to get to about half-again as loud (around 90dB at 10').

Only you can answer if that's loud enough. It's certainly not live rock concert levels (100+dB); on the other hand it would be loud enough for some.

Cheers,
Jeff.

(PS: this is how I understand it, but I'm no expert. Corrections welcome.)

(PPS: that's a pretty inefficient speaker. I think the majority of speakers would be in the mid- to upper-80's, while high-efficiency designs would be in the upper-90s into the 100s.)

it is 83db (2.83V/1M) and 4ohms. 2.83V @4ohm=2W

A quick test is just hook a cd player with 2Vrms output directly to the amp, and decide whether that sounds:
1) Bloody loud
2) Aaah just in the ball park
3) Aaah bastard that would put a bloody baby to sleep.

At 2.8V peak output of the cd player you'll be seeing 2.8V x 6 dynamic peaks out of the amp which will be under clipping of the amp.

My family starts complaining at anything over 15W rms (that's dynamic peaks not average) on 87dB speakers.

If you have 4 Ohm speakers, the F5 sounds better with less source resistance on the Fets anything under 0.2 Ohms is a decent improvement, or just remove all together. You'll need to go through the biasing procedure again (back it off first)

ok, fine! thanks to all. So I will just give it a try and see if I get happy with the volume ;)

Just in case, two more questions:

- how do i actually notice if I am in the clipping area of the F5? I really don't want to blow up the amp...