Future SMD

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi I have been reading the forums with great interest . There is a lot of knowledge shared which is a very good thing so i thought i would share some of mine! I have been a Surface mount engineer for 13 years or more and in those years i have seen huge changes to the way we manufacture the circuit boards.

A lot of people love to modify what they have by fitting higher quality components and altering the circuits ( im one so i know its addictive ) but i do have a word of warning . Even now the Smd devices are getting to small to play with we have caps and resistors which are in the 1005 range routinely fitted to all types of PCB not to mention BGA (ball grid array) devices which are taking over from leaded devices . The Future im afraid looks even smaller ! I spoke to a guy from Siemens the other day and they are producing a machine that can place SMD caps and Rs which are a quarter of a millimeter by a quarter of a millimeter ! in other words grains of sand! try desoldering those! so my point is buy the older stuff while you can from ebay and the like because unless you have rework stations that are like what NASA has then forget it!

No real knowledge behind what I'm going to type but what about say, 200W amplifiers. The power rating for some of those components needed is too high for even 1206 and 0805 components. I rekon it'll take some time before they'll dissapear.

BTW what about group buys on PCB population.

Even the best 1206 parts are only 250mW dissipation. I use 2512 1 Watt devices in some circumstances in my designs at work but the prices are much higher than the 1206 parts.

Also we need to keep in mind that metal film surface-mount resistors have a very poor overload capability. Their thermal mass is so low that even a fairly short duration overload can blow them open-circuit.