Mosfet pair with odd lead order

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all, I normally don't venture out of the car audio forum, but Perry Babbin suggested I look for some advice here.

I have an a/d/s amplifier that I'm working on. It was a bit of a Frankenstein from several previous techs repair attempts. I've finally isolated my major issue, and it is that sometime in the past someone replaced the 2SJ77/2SK214 mosfet complimentary pairs with what appear to be counterfeit parts. The 2SJ77/2SK214 mosfets have a lead order of Gate Source Drain. These counterfeit transistors are all the more common GDS lead order.

The originals pairs are now long obsoleted and I'm looking for some possible substitutes. The tabs are not needed, so the package does not necessarily have to be to-220. They are sandwiched between the board and the heat sink though, so the package would have to be of similar thickness.

Thank you all in advance!
Jason Campbell

Well, this shows how little I know in this subject. I was not even aware what a lateral mosfet was until you said that and I looked it up. I normally work only on automotive amplifiers, and while I'm no stranger to mosfet based linear amplifiers, this is the first time I've run across these fets. Typically mosfet based car audio amps use irf540/9540, irf640/9640, or similar, which after my brief Google education appear to all be "vertical fets".

How would one go about narrowing down a distributors offering to these lateral fets? Basically I'd love to find replacements that are the same lead order as the stock parts, I just don't know how to start looking for them. There has to be a better way than finding similar specced parts then pulling the datasheet to find out if it has this lead order.

Thank you!
Jason